Agency staff are only available 8:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday through Friday. All calls and emails are returned in the order received. Email is best firstname.lastname@example.org if you have technical questions.
The office is NOT open to the public and physical or in person documents will not be accepted.
July 1, 2023 KBC will no longer accept any physical payments. All fees and fines will need to be paid via credit or debit card through the online application system.
Training course certificates are not equivalent to a Kentucky permit or license. In order to practice in Kentucky you shall obtain a specialty permit or professional license.
Threading, Eyelash Extension, & Makeup Artistry
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: How do I acquire a permit to provide Eyelash Extensions, Makeup Artistry or Threading services?
A: Locate the permit application under the Licensure tab, click on Specialty Permits on right side of screen on www.kbc.ky.gov. Additional instructions are including assisting completion the application process.
- Copy of High School diploma, transcripts or GED
- Copy of driver's license
- Attach a 2x2 passport photo to application
- Copy of Milady Pro Infection Control Certificate
- Copy of Lash Training Certificate – course must be taken within 6 months of application.
- You must disclose your employment location with application. At no time can any permit holder provide services outside a licensed facility in KY.
Q: Will I need additional sanitation training for an Eyelash Extension, Makeup Artistry or Threading Permit?
A: Yes, all permits require a minimum of a 3 hour infection control course. This course is available online at:
Completion of the infection control course must be submitted with the permit application. The Board will not accept an Infection control course that has been taken over one year.
Q: Which companies are board approved to provide Eyelash certifications for the Eyelash Extension Permit?
A: The board has approved the Eyelash providers listed below:
1. Bella Lashes (via the Salon Institute only)
2. College for Technical Education - Nicholasville KY
3. Dulce Lash at Paul Mitchell the School - Lexington or Louisville, KY
4. Elevate Academy of Beauty by Stefani Carol - Kentucky location with KY Instructor
5. Glad Lash - Kentucky location with KY Instructor
6. Great Ambitions - Mayfield, KY
7. LASHed Education at Katharos School of Esthetics - Lexington, KY
8. Lash Training Academy - Kentucky location with KY Instructor
9. Lavish Lashes - Kentucky location with KY Instructor
Q: Where can I provide services as an Eyelash Extension, Makeup Artistry or Threading Permit holder?
A: All licenses or Permit holders in the state of Kentucky a re required by law to work in a licensed facility approved through the KBC office at all times.
Q: Can an Eyelash Permit holder provide other services such as lash perm lifts, tinting, or provide brow services?
A: No, the Eyelash Permit is strictly a service provided by applying lashes directly to your natural eyelash by using adhesive. A licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician must provide all other services such as lash lifts, tinting or brow services.
Q: What happens if I fail to renew my permit during the renewal period of July 1st – 31st?
A: To restore an expired license or permit, a Restoration Application may be completed online. If the permit has been expired 2 years or more an application shall be submitted to the with proper restoration and licensing fees to bring it current.
Qualifications to Train Eyelash Artistry or be a Board Approved Eyelash Training Program:
- All instruction must be done by a Kentucky Board-licensed cosmetology or esthetics instructor.
- Program curriculum will be evaluated by the Board for complete and thorough coverage of eye disorders, disease, contraindications, safe practice procedures, and accepted supplies that have been determined to be safe for use around the eye and facial tissue.
- Program access to appropriate professional lash extension product lines for use by students/trainees.
- MSDS on all products being used in services, including but not limited to: infection control items approved pursuant to 201 KAR 12:100 and application of adhesives and extension materials.
- A copy of the contract between trainer and student that includes details regarding cost, materials, and directions for accessing KBC statutes and regulations. Information must be provided sufficient to make student aware of requirements for obtaining an eyelash artistry permit.
- A copy of the contract between the program and instructors approved to train in that program.
- All instruction must be done in person. No distance or virtual learning is permitted.
- Programs must notify the Board at least ten (10) days in advance of a course being taught. This notice must include the following information: Date and time course will be taught; class location address, names of instructors, and number of seats available.
- Programs must submit to the Board, within ten (10) days of course completion, a roster of those persons taking the course, including each student's name, address, email, and phone number. This report to the Board should also indicate which students successfully completed the program and include a copy of the sign-in sheet containing each student's signature.