*** Due to the high volume of applicants, please allow a minimum of 30 days for application processing time. Receipt of applications cannot be verified by the office unless it has been more than 30 days from submission. If you require verification of receipt, please submit your application by traceable means through the postal system. ***
Please refer to the Licensing Requirements section for field-specific details on obtaining your first license.
Also, please see Out-of-State Info and Salon Requirements for information about obtaining these types of licenses.
All licenses must be renewed beginning July 1 through July 31 of each year. If the license renewal is not received in the board office or postmarked by July 31 the license is expired and the appropriate restoration fee must be paid, no exceptions.
Duplicate licenses can only be issued for those that have been lost or stolen. We cannot issue duplicates for persons working in more than one salon without special permission. A licensee must submit the duplicate license application with fee to purchase a duplicate license.
An expired license can be restored provided the license has been expired for less than five (5) years by submitting the License Restoration Application with the required fee.
To restore a cosmetologist or esthetic license that has been expired for a period exceeding five (5) years, the statute requires the individual to apply and successfully complete the respective practical and theory examination.
Any licensee can request a certification for their license. Certifications are typically used when applying for a license in another state. Applicants must submit the Certification Request Form to the board office along with the fee of $25. Certifications can only be submitted to the transferring state. No certification will be mailed to a private address.
Active Military Spouse
If you or your spouse is transferred or actively based in the State of Kentucky and you hold a current and active license is another state you may transfer your license, provided you meet Kentucky statutory requirements, by submitting the Active Military Sponsor License Transfer Application with required documentation and fee.
12.357 Issuance of temporary or regular license or certificate to spouse of active duty member of Armed Forces.
- Notwithstanding any other statute to the contrary, an administrative body shall issue a temporary or regular license or certificate within thirty (30) days to the spouse of an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States if the spouse of the active duty member meets the statutory requirements of the administrative body and applies to the administrative body in a format promulgated in administrative regulation by the administrative body.
- An application for temporary or regular licensure of the spouse of an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States shall include but not be limited to the following:
- Proof that the applicant is married to an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States;
- Proof that the applicant holds a valid license or certificate for the profession issued by another state, the District of Columbia, or any possession or territory of the United States;
- Proof that the applicant's spouse is assigned to a duty station in this state and that the applicant is also assigned to a duty station in this state pursuant to the spouse's official active duty military orders; and
- An application fee to be established by the administrative body in an amount that is no more than is necessary to offset the cost of issuing the temporary or regular license.
- A temporary license issued pursuant this section shall expire six (6) months after the date of issuance and is not renewable.